All About Anime

Incest

Posted in Anime by starchildap on August 2, 2008

You know after watching probably more than a hundred different anime series and OVA’s I’ve come to a somewhat disturbing conclusion, incest it really more permissible in Japan than in the US. I mean there still a taboo on direct incest, siblings, parents to child, but cousins marring is perfectly acceptable and normal. And even though there is a taboo on siblings love, and so forth, there still seems to be a fascination with it. Mild incest, cousins and such, shows up in probably one in ten shows. But there are even shows that are purely about incest in the first degree. It gets to where it almost feels normal, which slightly scares me. But watching these shows you understand their reasoning and even as you think how horrible and sick it is, some part of you sees their love and wants them to live happily ever after. There really are quiet a few shows like that…

Shows with incest in the first degree (Either as a main part or minor):

Angel Sanctuary

Boku Wa Imouto Koi Wo Suru

Koi Kaze

Papa To Kiss in the Dark (kinda)

Kimi ga Aruji de Shitsuji ga Ore de

There are just so many shows with incest in the second degree, you see cousins involved all the time. (I’m only going to put a few, there are just too many to try to list them all)

Kaze No Stigma

Maria-sama ga Miteru

There is also just a huge number of shows where it isn’t technically incest, buts its relationships between step-siblings. Some Examples:

Marmalade Boy

My Otome

Then there is the whole brother complex and sister couples which seems to just be a normal thing…. its all just so strange.

I can’t put my finger on how I feel about this all, it know it disturbs me, but I still watch things that have these in them, and even knowing on an intellectual level how totally wrong it is, on an emotional level I almost don’t hate it. I can’t approve of it, but I also can know that its societies standard that make me think the way I do, such things were commonplace in past times. And still are elsewhere, so I think I’ve found the best way to handle it all is just not to let it bother me and to accept that its just a different culture and not look too closely at my own feelings on the issue.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. djpurvi said, on May 29, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    which episode is this?


Leave a Reply

